Swap It!!

If you’re in love with chocolates like me (I’m IN LOVE!! with chocolates, big time), I can understand if it’s really difficult for you to stay away the heavenly taste. Buuuut (a big but :P), you can always choose a healthy variety… okay, less sinful. 😛

The ultimate healthy option is to READ THE LABEL!  If it lists sugar as ingredients 1, 2 or 3, c’mon, you know better. Drop it! Other ingredients to watch out for are high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated vegetable oil and preservatives.You can always grab a dark chocolate vs the infamous milk chocolate which obviously contains more sugar and other fit-enemies known to men. If you’re really up to it, buy the organic kind. If you can’t, find something w/ natural ingredients… although organic is a better choice and I have not really spotted a chocolate that lists “NATURAL”. Plus, ORGANIC is a more regulated label than natural, you are sure that you are eating clean.

Or… you can always make your own chocolate!! 😉

You will need:

  • 4 oz pure cacao beans (I think cocoa powder will do, but I’m not sure)
  • 2 tbsp raw honey
  • 1 packet stevia powder
  • vanilla almond milk (optional)

Depending on how bitter-sweet you want your chocolate to be, you can adjust the measurements. Place ingredients in a sauce pan, place under medium heat and mix well until melted.

When I made this, the consistency was not very thick, but after cooling at room temp and placing the finished product in the fridge, it hardened into a bar. I like mine more on the bitter side though.

Seeing that my first chocolate recipe was not such a big hit, I made some Chocolate Syrup instead. 😀

Home-made Chocolate Syrup


Ingredients:

  • cocoa powder – 1 tbsp
  • water – 2 tsp
  • honey – 2 tsp (raw or unfiltered, your choice, just go natural)
Procedure:
  • Mix well. Drizzle!

I drizzled it on top of my favorite overnight oats!! Original recipe from Gina of Fitnessista.com.


Overnight Oats

Ingredients:
  • 1/2 cup oats (I used quick cooking this time, but you can use old fashioned oats)

(continued at smileandglow.blogspot.com)

Leave a Reply

