Cooking is fun :P

Today is a first of  my Weekend Experiments. So I’m going to try something new every Friday, Saturday or Sunday that revolves around recipes, menu items or restaurants.

So for starters, I’m trying kale.

I know, I’m kind of a late bloomer as this is my first time to eat kale, but actually my second time to buy one. The first time I bought from the supermarket, it wilted in the fridge.

So I decided to buy another batch of kale to try and even though I have read numerous recipes and blogs saying how great kale is, I still didn’t know what to expect. I was kind of thinking it would be bitter.

But…

the magic of kale prevailed. LOL

Kale tasted so good!! I added it to my salads and soups.

I made my first spicy tuna and lentil soup.

Hot and spicy 🙂

I’m not a great photographer haha it tastes better than it looks in this photo 😛

Lemme see…

  • 1 can spicy tuna, low sodium, flakes in oil
  • 1 medium can lentils, low sodium
  • 2 handfuls of kale, sliced
  • 1 bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 small red onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 4 cherry tomatoes
  • water

I just sautéed the tuna in its own oil, garlic and onion. Mixed in the lentils and water, then I covered the pan and left my experiment to simmer. Added the bell pepper and kale last and simmered again for another minute. I then transferred my steaming soup in a bowl and added the tomatoes. So good… 🙂

I will train to become a better cook. Hahaha. I promise!! Cooking is so much fun!!

So I also tried kale in my salad as I said. 🙂

Kale + spinach + tomatoes + tuna sprinkled with fresh calamansi juice

 

I love eating lean, clean and green. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

